Free delivery on orders above €150

Strength and balance, the influence of far-infrared light

Strength and balance, the influence of far-infrared light


A study of trail runners was carried out during two 21.6-kilometre races.

It measured strength, proprioception and subjective fatigue parameters before, during and after the trail to identify the effects of recovery.

Read the full report here!

Article summary

Study on the impact of far-infrared radiation

Trail running is a physically demanding sport which can lead to muscle fatigue and postural instability. In a recent study, researchers investigated whether STIMCARE patches could help alleviate these effects.

The study involved 16 trail runners who were randomly assigned to a STIMCARE patch group and a placebo patch group during two 21.6 kilometer runs. The STIMCARE patches were designed to reflect infrared radiation emitted by the body back into the body.

The results showed that STIMCARE patches were effective in delaying and limiting the loss of muscle strength during running (see study abstract at end of article). STIMCARE patches also help maintain postural balance.

The researchers concluded that STIMCARE patches could potentially benefit athletes by helping them maintain strength and balance, which could lead to improved performance and a reduced risk of injury.

What is a STIMCARE patch?

STIMCARE patches are small adhesive patches containing ground metal oxides capable of reflecting far-infrared light. Far-infrared radiation has been shown to have a number of beneficial effects on the body, including reducing inflammation, improving blood circulation and promoting muscle recovery.

When patches are applied to the skin, they absorb heat (infrared radiation) from the body and re-emit far-infrared radiation back into the body.

Find out more about STIMCARE patches

How do far-infrared patches work?

The infrared radiation emitted by the patches helps to increase blood circulation and oxygen supply to the muscles. This can help reduce muscle fatigue and improve performance.

Conclusion

The STIMCARE patch study is promising, but further research is needed to confirm the results.

If you're an athlete looking for ways to improve your performance and reduce your risk of injury, don't hesitate to use STIMCARE patches!

Abstract of the study to be published :
The influence of far infrared on trail-running strength and posture

Key words: Infrared; Trail-running; Fatigue; Neuromuscular

Maxime Chamoux1,2, Laurent Mourot3, Gregory Doucende4, Alizée Santannac1, Arnaud Tortel2, Aurélien Empereur2

1 Université de Perpignan Via Domitia, Laboratoire Interdisciplinaire Performance Santé en Environnement de Montagne (LIPSEM), UR-4604, 7 Avenue Pierre de Coubertin, Font Romeu, 66120, France

2 Tortel industries, Stimcare, Dieulefit, 26220, France

3 Prognostic markers and regulatory factors of cardiac and vascular diseases and Plateforme EPSI, University of Franche-Comté, Besançon, EA 3920, France

4 LIBM, Inter-university Laboratory of Human Movement Science, University Savoie Mont Blanc, Chambéry, France

Introduction

The alternation of ascents and descents, often on unstable terrain, encountered during trail running contributes to the development of neuromuscular and postural fatigue (Degache et al., 2014; Giandolini et al., 2016). For several years, ground metal oxides embedded in patches have been used to reflect and redirect the infrared (IR) radiation emitted by the human body towards the interior. These devices can be used to delay the onset of muscle fatigue in animals (Ting-Kai Leung et al., 2011) or to limit postural disturbances in gymnasts (Cian et al., 2015). The aim of this study was to assess whether the use of Stimcare-eNOsyntex™ (SC) patches could limit the neuromuscular fatigue associated with trail-running.

Theoretical and methodological framework

16 traileurs (maximum oxygen consumption - VO2max - at 1850m = 65.3 ± 7.24 ml.min.kg-1, age = 21 ± 5.81 years; height = 176.13 ± 3.52 cm; weight = 65.31 ± 7.24 kg) voluntarily took part in the study. They completed in a randomized fashion (single blind) 2 runs of 21.6 km with 630 m of positive elevation gain, separated by a minimum of 7 days, wearing either 21 SC patches (eNOsyntex™, Stimcare, France; maximum emission power = 178w/m2 between 7.5 and 13 μm) distributed on different key points (legs, wrists, stomach and back)(Sheng-xing, 2017) or 21 placebo patches (CTRL). Each run consisted of 6 loops of 3.6 km with 105m of positive elevation gain, performed at a heart rate corresponding to 85% of VO2max. Before (PRE), after 3 laps (MID) and within 5 min of stopping the run (POST), maximal isometric quadriceps strength was assessed (Leg control, Mtraining, France). Maintenance of bipodal posture on the medio-lateral axis was assessed for 30 seconds (force platforms, Vald Performance, Australia).

Results and discussion

A force loss of 8% was observed between PRE and MID with CTRL (p=0.02), whereas it was only 1.6% with the SC patch (p=0.94). In POST, force loss was 13% for CTRL (p=0.001) versus 5.9 % (p= 0.021) for SC, significantly higher for CTRL (p=0.038). Wearing SC patches therefore delays and limits loss of strength during trail running. An increase in medio-lateral displacement was observed only for CTRL (p=0.04; SC, p= 0.64). Nonetheless, post hoc tests after Bonferroni correction revealed no difference between CTRL and SC.

(PRE-MID: p= 0.08; PRE-POST: p= 0.3; MID-POST: p=0.9). This result shows that wearing the SC patches limits the disruption to postural balance.

Conclusion and outlook

The results obtained show that eNOsyntex™ patches delay and limit the loss of muscle strength, while promoting the maintenance of balance in trail runners. This suggests that SC patches could act on both the performance and health of trail runners. Nevertheless, future research will need to confirm these results and highlight the mechanisms potentially involved.

Bibliography

Cian, C., Gianocca, V., Barraud, P. A., Guerraz, M., & Bresciani, J. P. (2015). Bioceramic fabrics improve

Quiet standing posture and handstand stability in expert gymnasts. Gait & Posture, 42(4), 419-423. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.gaitpost.2015.07.008

Degache, F., Van Zaen, J., Oehen, L., Guex, K., Trabucchi, P., & Millet, G. (2014). Alterations in postural

control during the world's most challenging mountain ultra-marathon. PloS One, 9(1), e84554. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0084554

Giandolini, M., Vernillo, G., Samozino, P., Horvais, N., Edwards, W. B., Morin, J.-B., & Millet, G. Y.

(2016). Fatigue associated with prolonged graded running. European Journal of Applied Physiology, 116(10), 1859-1873.
https://doi.org/10.1007/s00421-016-3437-4

Sheng-xing, M. (2017). Nitric Oxide Signaling Molecules in Acupuncture Points: Toward Mechanisms

of Acupuncture. Chinese journal of integrative medicine, 23(11), 812-815. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11655-017-2789-x

Ting-Kai Leung, Chi-Ming Lee, Shih-Yin Tsai, Yi-Chien Chen, & Jo-Shui Chao. (2011). A Pilot Study of

Ceramic Powder Far-Infrared Ray Irradiation (cFIR) on Physiology: Observation of Cell Cultures and Amphibian Skeletal Muscle. The Chinese Journal of Physiology, 54(4). https://doi.org/10.4077/CJP.2011.AMM044

More articles

Sport

Meet Rémi Senal

On the occasion of the French Full Contact Championships, we interviewed Rémi Senal, a fan of STIMCARE products.

STIMCARE-ETUDE-PATCH-INFRAROUGES-FATIGUE-PHYSIQUE
Sport

Strength and balance, the influence of far-infrared light


A study of trail runners was carried out during two 21.6-kilometre races.



It measured strength, proprioception and subjective fatigue parameters before, during and after the trail to identify the effects of recovery.



Read the report

Take advantage of -10% on your first order by subscribing to the STIMCARE Newsletter!

en_US

Livraison offerte à partir de 150€ d’achat

Force et équilibre, l’influence des infrarouges lointains

Force et équilibre, l’influence des infrarouges lointains


Une étude réalisée sur des coureurs de trail a été menée pendant deux courses de 21,6 kilomètres.

Mesure des paramètres de force, de proprioception, de fatigue subjective, avant pendant et après le trail pour identifier les effets de la récupération.

Retrouvez le compte rendu de cette étude juste ici !

Sommaire de l'article

Étude sur l’impact des infrarouges lointains

Le trail running est un sport physiquement exigeant qui peut entraîner une fatigue musculaire et une instabilité posturale. Dans une étude récente, des chercheurs ont cherché à savoir si les patchs STIMCARE pouvaient contribuer à atténuer ces effets.

L’étude a porté sur 16 coureurs de trail qui ont été répartis au hasard avec un groupe avec les patchs STIMCARE et un groupe avec des patchs placebo pendant deux courses de 21,6 kilomètres. Les patchs STIMCARE ont été conçus pour réfléchir et rediriger vers l’intérieur du corps le rayonnement infrarouge émis par le corps.

Les résultats ont montré que les patchs STIMCARE étaient efficaces pour retarder et limiter la perte de force musculaire pendant les courses (Cf Abstract de l’étude en fin d’article). En outre, les patchs STIMCARE contribuent également au maintien de l’équilibre postural.

Les chercheurs ont conclu que les patchs STIMCARE pourraient potentiellement bénéficier aux sportifs en les aidant à maintenir leur force et leur équilibre, ce qui pourrait conduire à une amélioration des performances et à une réduction du risque de blessure.

Qu’est-ce qu’un patch STIMCARE ?

Les patchs STIMCARE sont de petits patchs adhésifs contenant des oxydes métalliques broyés capables de renvoyer les infrarouges lointains. Il a été démontré que les infrarouges lointains ont un certain nombre d’effets bénéfiques sur le corps, notamment la réduction de l’inflammation, l’amélioration de la circulation sanguine et la promotion de la récupération musculaire.

Lorsque les patchs sont appliqués sur la peau, ils absorbent la chaleur (rayonnement infrarouge) du corps et ré-émettent un rayonnement infrarouge lointain vers l’organisme.

En savoir plus sur les patchs STIMCARE

Comment les patchs infrarouges lointains fonctionnent-ils ?

Le rayonnement infrarouge émis par les patchs contribue à aQueugmenter la circulation sanguine et l’apport d’oxygène aux muscles. Cela peut contribuer à réduire la fatigue musculaire et à améliorer les performances.

Conclusion

L’étude sur les patchs STIMCARE est prometteuse, mais des recherches supplémentaires sont nécessaires pour confirmer les résultats.

Si vous êtes un sportif et que vous cherchez des moyens d’améliorer vos performances et de réduire votre risque de blessure, n’hésitez pas à utiliser les patchs STIMCARE !

Abstract de l’étude à paraitre :
Influence des infrarouges lointains sur la force et la posture en trail-running

Mots clefs : Infrarouge ; Trail-running ; Fatigue ; Neuromusculaire

Maxime Chamoux1,2, Laurent Mourot3, Gregory Doucende4, Alizée Santannac1, Arnaud Tortel2, Aurélien Empereur2

1 Université de Perpignan Via Domitia, Laboratoire Interdisciplinaire Performance Santé en Environnement de Montagne (LIPSEM), UR-4604, 7 Avenue Pierre de Coubertin, Font Romeu, 66120, France

2 Tortel industries, Stimcare, Dieulefit, 26220, France

3 Prognostic markers and regulatory factors of cardiac and vascular diseases and Plateforme EPSI, University of Franche-Comté, Besançon, EA 3920, France

4 LIBM, Inter-university Laboratory of Human Movement Science, University Savoie Mont Blanc, Chambéry, France

Introduction

L’alternance de montées et descentes, souvent sur terrains instables, rencontrée lors de la pratique du trail running participe au développement d’une fatigue neuromusculaire et posturale (Degache et al., 2014; Giandolini et al., 2016). Depuis plusieurs années, des oxydes métalliques broyés intégrés dans des patchs sont utilisés pour refléter et rediriger vers l’intérieur du corps humain le rayonnement infrarouge (IR) émis par ce dernier. Ces dispositifs permettent de retarder l’apparition de la fatigue musculaire chez l’animal (Ting-Kai Leung et al., 2011) ou encore de limiter les perturbations posturales chez des gymnastes (Cian et al., 2015). Le but de cette étude a été d’évaluer si l’utilisation de patch Stimcare-eNOsyntex™ (SC) permettait de limiter la fatigue neuromusculaire liée à la pratique du trail-running.

Cadre théorique et méthodologique

16 traileurs (consommation maximale d’oxygène – VO2max – à 1850m = 65,3 ± 7,24 ml.min.kg-1, âge = 21 ± 5,81 ans ; taille = 176,13 ± 3,52 cm ; poids = 65,31 ± 7,24 kg) ont volontairement participé à l’étude. Ils ont effectué de manière randomisée (simple aveugle) 2 courses de 21,6 km avec 630 m de dénivelé positif, séparées de 7 jours minimum, en portant soit 21 patchs SC (eNOsyntex™, Stimcare, France ; puissance maximale d’émission = 178w/m2 entre 7,5 et 13 μm) réparties sur différents points clefs (jambes, poignets, ventre et dos)(Sheng-xing, 2017) soit 21 patchs placebo (CTRL). Chaque course consistait en 6 boucles de 3,6 km avec 105m de dénivelé positif, effectuée à une fréquence cardiaque correspondant à 85% de la VO2max. Avant (PRE), après 3 tours (MID) et dans les 5 min qui ont suivi l’arrêt de la course (POST), la force maximale isométrique des quadriceps a été évaluée (Leg control, Mtraining, France). Le maintien de la posture bipodale sur l’axe médio-latéral a été évaluée durant 30 secondes (plateformes de force, Vald Performance, Australie).

Résultats et discussion

Une perte de force de 8% a été observée entre PRE et MID avec le CTRL (p=0.02), alors qu’elle n’était que de 1,6% avec le patch SC (p=0,94). En POST, la perte de force était de 13% pour CTRL (p=0,001) contre 5,9 % (p= 0,021) pour SC, significativement supérieure pour CTRL (p=0,038). Ainsi, le port de patchs SC permet de retarder et de limiter la perte de force au cours du trail. Une augmentation du déplacement médio-latéral a été observée uniquement pour CTRL (p=0,04 ; SC, p= 0,64). Néanmoins, les tests post hoc après correction de Bonferroni ne révèle aucune différence

significative (PRE-MID : p= 0,08 ; PRE-POST : p= 0,3 ; MID-POST : p=0,9). Ce résultat témoigne d’une limitation de la perturbation de l’équilibre postural grâce au port des patchs SC.

Conclusion et perspectives

Les résultats obtenus montrent que les patchs eNOsyntex™ retardent et limitent la perte de force musculaire, tout en favorisant le maintien de l’équilibre chez les traileurs. Cela permet de supposer que les patchs SC pourraient agir à la fois sur la performance et sur la santé des pratiquants de trail running. Néanmoins, les futures recherches devront confirmer ces résultats et mettre en évidence les mécanismes potentiellement impliqués.

Bibliographie

Cian, C., Gianocca, V., Barraud, P. A., Guerraz, M., & Bresciani, J. P. (2015). Bioceramic fabrics improve

quiet standing posture and handstand stability in expert gymnasts. Gait & Posture, 42(4), 419‑423. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.gaitpost.2015.07.008

Degache, F., Van Zaen, J., Oehen, L., Guex, K., Trabucchi, P., & Millet, G. (2014). Alterations in postural

control during the world’s most challenging mountain ultra-marathon. PloS One, 9(1), e84554. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0084554

Giandolini, M., Vernillo, G., Samozino, P., Horvais, N., Edwards, W. B., Morin, J.-B., & Millet, G. Y.

(2016). Fatigue associated with prolonged graded running. European Journal of Applied Physiology, 116(10), 1859‑1873.
https://doi.org/10.1007/s00421-016-3437-4

Sheng-xing, M. (2017). Nitric Oxide Signaling Molecules in Acupuncture Points : Toward Mechanisms

of Acupuncture. Chinese journal of integrative medicine, 23(11), 812‑815. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11655-017-2789-x

Ting-Kai Leung, Chi-Ming Lee, Shih-Yin Tsai, Yi-Chien Chen, & Jo-Shui Chao. (2011). A Pilot Study of

Ceramic Powder Far-Infrared Ray Irradiation (cFIR) on Physiology : Observation of Cell Cultures and Amphibian Skeletal Muscle. The Chinese Journal of Physiology, 54(4). https://doi.org/10.4077/CJP.2011.AMM044

Plus d'articles

Sport

A la rencontre de Rémi Senal

A l rsquo occasion des Championnats de France de Full Contact nous avons récolté le témoignage de Rémi Senal adepte des produits STIMCARE

STIMCARE-ETUDE-PATCH-INFRAROUGES-FATIGUE-PHYSIQUE
Sport

Force et équilibre, l’influence des infrarouges lointains


Une étude réalisée sur des coureurs de trail a été menée pendant deux courses de 21 6 kilomètres



Mesure des paramètres de force de proprioception de fatigue subjective avant pendant et après le trail pour identifier les effets de la récupération

dechirure musculaire
Sport

Déchirure musculaire : traitement et prévention

La déchirure musculaire peut être bénigne dans le cas d une élongation mais peut toutefois être plus grave si le muscle est partiellement ou totalement déchiré Comment prévenir et traiter les déchirures musculaires On vous en dit plus dans cet article

Profitez de -10% sur votre première commande en vous inscrivant à la Newsletter STIMCARE !

fr_FR